(Redirected from Tournaments)

IYPT 2018

The 31st IYPT was held in Beijing, China from July 19th till July 26th 2018, hosted by the Department of Physics at Renmin University of China. IOC meeting took place from July 26th till July 28th after the tournament. More details in the Declaration of organising IYPT 2018 by the LOC. Problems for IYPT 2018 and the official and signed pdf.


Results and ranking of teams at IYPT 2018 can be found at

A copy of livestream of the finals is available here.

Preliminary schedule

Arrival day: July 19th

Physics fights:

  • July 20th: Opening ceremony, PF1
  • July 21st: PF2
  • July 22nd: PF3, PF4
  • July 23rd: PF5
  • July 25th: Final Fight, Closing ceremony

Planned excursions:

  • July 21st, afternoon: Temple of Heaven
  • July 23rd, afternoon: Tsinghua University
  • July 24th, whole day: The Great Wall

Departure day: July 26th

IOC meeting: July 26th till July 27th

Departure day (for IOC meeting attendees): July 28th


The competition venue for IYPT 2018 is RDFZ Yizhuang Campus (2 Tianbao North Avenue, Daxing District, Beijing).

Students and non-juror Team Leaders will be accommodated on campus in twin rooms with a private bathroom. Photos of the tournament premises and dormitory rooms can be found here.

Team Leader Jurors, Experienced Jurors, Visitors, Guests and EC members will be accommodated in the nearby Pullman Hoel (12 Ronghua South Road, Beijing Economic Technological Development Area,Yizhuang, 100176 Beijing).

Current version of the IYPT regulations and scoring sheets valid for IYPT 2018 (accepted in Singapore, July 2017) and some new rules decided by the IOC.

New versions of Physics fight and other guidelines for IYPT 2018 have been accepted at the EC meeting that was held in Beijing in November.

Registration for IYPT 2018 via IYPTCC is now open. All instructions on how to register can be found on the help page.

Important deadlines

The registration system will remain open until June 15th, which is the last possible date to fill in all data required for participation and the last cut-off deadline for invitation letters from the LOC.

The cut-off deadlines for filling in all required participation data into IYPT CC registration system in order to obtain invitation letters from the LOC were May 10th and June 5th.

The deadline for paying the registration fee of 1500 EUR per team was May 10th 2018.

The IYPT Jury Committee has decided about Experienced Juror application. Jurors were notified via IYPT CC registration system.

The deadline for pre-registering a team for IYPT 2018 was January 31st. Pre-registration is closed now. We have 35 competing teams and one guest team pre-registered.

Second round of Applications for travel support for Experienced Jurors was open until April 10th.

The call for registration of Experienced Jurors is closed now, the deadline was April 10th.

List of registered teams for IYPT 2018

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. Belarus
  4. Brazil
  5. Bulgaria
  6. Canada
  7. Chile
  8. China
  9. Chinese Taipei
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Georgia
  12. Germany
  13. Hungary
  14. India
  15. Iran
  16. Korea
  17. Macao
  18. New Zealand
  19. Pakistan
  20. Poland
  21. Romania
  22. Russia
  23. Serbia
  24. Singapore
  25. Slovakia
  26. Sweden
  27. Switzerland
  28. Thailand
  29. Turkey
  30. Ukraine
  31. United Kingdom
  32. USA