Minutes of the meeting of the International Organizing Committee of the International Young Physicists' Tournament

Brisbane, 1st and 2nd July 2004

Participants

Representatives of the following 19 countries: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Kenya, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, USA.

Decisions

- 1. Alfredo Mastrocola has been elected as the Treasurer of the IYPT.
- 2. It has been decided to introduce "contributions of members" to the paragraph II.7 of the Statutes as an additional source of the financial resources of IYPT.
- 3. It has been decided that the sentence "The IYPT funds can be managed by an external agency, in collaboration with the Treasury of IYPT, in accord with a special agreement approved by the IOC" will be included in the paragraph mentioned above (this sentence was present in the version of the Statutes that has been sent to the IOC members before the IYPT, but was accidentally omitted in the version distributed during the IYPT).
- 4. It has been agreed that voting by e-mail should be legally allowed in the process of taking decisions by the IOC. An appropriate record should be introduced into the Statutes.
- 5. It has been pointed out that proceedings should be published after each IYPT either printed version or recorded on CD. This would be relevant for winning potential sponsors. An information leaflet on IYPT should also be prepared and published.
- 6. The following changes in the Regulations have been proposed:

(1) to exclude the grading from the time schedule of chapter VII, leaving 2 minutes for questions of the Jury only,

(2) to increase the time for questions of the Reviewer to the Reporter and the Opponent from 2 to 3 minutes,

(3) to limit the number, how many times any team member can take the floor during the Final PF, to one.

The above proposals, together with others, which are sent to the Secretary General till the end of August 2004, will be voted by e-mail in September 2004.

- A tentative list of the countries hosting the IYPT in the future has been established:
 2005 Switzerland (officially announced), 2006 Slovakia, 2007 Korea, 2008 Croatia (preliminary proposal), 2009 USA, 2010 Bulgaria, 2011 Indonesia, 2012 Russia.
- 8. Seventeen problems have been chosen for the IYPT 2005 from 35 pre-selected ones, that had been sent to IOC members before the IYPT, and their wording has been determined (see attachment). The problems are to be published at the web site <u>www.iypt.org</u> as a "tentative version". If necessary, they will be still improved (IOC members are asked to send their remarks by the end of July) and the final version published in August 2004.

Secretary General of the IYPT

President of the IYPT

Dr. Andrzej Nadolny

Prof. Gunnar Tibell